• Ce champ n’est utilisé qu’à des fins de validation et devrait rester inchangé.

About Jennifer Lockerby

This author has not yet filled in any details.
So far Jennifer Lockerby has created 16 blog entries.

Résoudre les problèmes d’aujourd’hui et de demain grâce aux infrastructures sociales

Cet article a été originellement publié dans Academica Group (en anglais seulement) et est reproduit ici avec son autorisation. -- La cohésion sociale et le bien-être communautaire sont de plus en plus menacés sur la scène mondiale et les gouvernements ne possèdent plus les mêmes ressources qu’avant pour aborder ces menaces. Alors que la mondialisation vient étouffer les budgets publics, un grand nombre d’établissements postsecondaires doivent de plus en plus justifier leur mandat face aux communautés qu’ils desservent. Cependant, devant ces pressions convergentes, les dirigeant.es canadien.nes du secteur postsecondaire voient la possibilité d’utiliser les capacités et les ressources de leur établissement pour aborder certains des problèmes les plus graves de notre société. Selon le recteur de l’Université Simon Fraser Andrew Petter, la menace [...]

2018-03-27T16:47:26+00:00 mars 27th, 2018|Tags: , |

Le programme LabWISE : Une petite contribution au domaine des labs du changement au Canada

Partout, les labs du changement gagnent en popularité comme méthodologie de travail sur des problèmes complexes sur le plan social, économique et environnemental. Au Canada, plusieurs abordent diverses thématiques : sécurité alimentaire, développement de la petite enfance, transition énergétique, logement abordable, gestion de l’eau et racisme. Il existe même plusieurs plateformes de labs permanentes, notamment le MaRS Solution Lab à Toronto, le Co-Lab du gouvernement de l’Alberta à Edmonton et le groupe REOS Partners Social Lab qui facilitent ces processus pour d’autres. On y a fait beaucoup d’expérimentation, mais les labs restent un domaine émergent. La plupart des praticiens documentent peu leurs approches, ne les évaluent pas de façon systématique et partagent rarement leurs apprentissages et leurs échecs. Il arrive donc [...]

2018-03-27T15:17:19+00:00 mars 19th, 2018|Tags: |

Collaboration campus-communauté : que pouvons-nous apprendre des établissements postsecondaires de partout au monde?

Une collaboration de RECODE et UpSocial Le secteur postsecondaire canadien est un des plus accessibles au monde. Il n’est donc pas surprenant que plusieurs établissements du pays excellent au moment d’aborder des enjeux sociaux. De l’approvisionnement à valeur sociale en passant par les carrefours d’innovation civique, bon nombre d’établissements vont au-delà de la recherche et de l’enseignement en collaborant avec la communauté et en contribuant sur le plan communautaire. Cependant, cette relation entre les établissements et les communautés ne représente pas encore la tendance dominante au Canada. Par conséquent, il peut être difficile d’accroître l’ampleur des innovations. De plus, les enjeux sociaux comme la crise des réfugiés et l’insécurité alimentaire traversent les frontières. Tout comme les innovations sociales. Alors, qu’est-ce [...]

2018-03-19T17:45:04+00:00 mars 19th, 2018|

Retour sur l’année de RECODE

RECODE souhaite développer l’éducation postsecondaire du 21e siècle axée sur les solutions qui améliorent le bien-être communautaire. Notre stratégie consiste à amplifier et regrouper les innovations de pointe. En tant que bailleur de fonds, expert en renforcement des capacités et rassembleur, RECODE collabore avec des partenaires pour introduire des pratiques et des outils d’innovation sociale dans le tissu même de la culture universitaire et communautaire. Vous pouvez en apprendre plus sur nos stratégies, nos activités et nos aspirations ici. Alors comment se porte notre travail? Dans notre billet de blogue publié à la fin de l’année 2016, nous en sommes venus à la conclusion que même si nous n’avions encore aucune certitude, nous étions néanmoins convaincus de poser les bonnes [...]

2018-01-30T23:05:32+00:00 janvier 30th, 2018|Tags: |

L’éducation coopérative pour « bâtir un monde meilleur »

La coopération existe depuis que les gens s’organisent pour atteindre des objectifs communs. Enraciné dans la lutte contre les inégalités et l’exploitation causée par la révolution industrielle dans l’Europe du 18e et 19e siècle, le modèle coopératif a depuis gagné en maturité pour devenir une forme d’entreprise légalement reconnue. De nos jours, 250 millions de personnes sont employées directement dans 2,6 millions de coopératives à travers le monde. L’Alliance coopérative internationale définit une coopérative comme « une association autonome de personnes qui se sont volontairement rassemblées en vue de réaliser leurs aspirations et de satisfaire leurs besoins économiques, sociaux et culturels communs, au travers d’une entreprise gérée de manière démocratique et détenue collectivement. » L’accent mis sur l’autonomie et la démocratie, ainsi que sur [...]

2018-01-05T21:26:29+00:00 janvier 5th, 2018|Tags: , |

Building Reconciliation Forum de 2017: trois leçons apprises

À l’occasion de la troisième édition du forum annuel sur la réconciliation intitulé Building Reconciliation Forum qui s’est tenu à l’Université du Manitoba, des Autochtones et des colons ont discuté des progrès, des possibilités et des défis liés à la réconciliation dans l’éducation postsecondaire. D’abord, j’aimerais remercier les gens qui m’ont accueillie, moi, un colon, qui me suis rendue sur le territoire du Traité no 1. Ma condition de colon limite intrinsèquement ma compréhension des questions autochtones au Canada. Toutefois, à titre d’alliée racialisée et d’étudiante depuis peu, je crois pouvoir fournir un point de vue utile à mes pairs colons qui travaillent dans le secteur postsecondaire. Voici les trois principales conclusions que je retiens du forum (ces points de vue sont [...]

S’appuyer sur ces petites réalisations qui changent les choses dans nos collectivités

Mon expérience de dix-huit ans comme président d’université m’a appris que le changement institutionnel est souvent issu des politiques, mais que ce sont souvent les petites réalisations sur le campus qui changent les choses dans nos collectivités, tant immédiates qu’élargies. À la suite de la débâcle de Charlottesville aux É.-U., des leaders communautaires – dont plusieurs présidents d’université – se sont mis à leur clavier pour rédiger des déclarations vigoureuses sur leur engagement envers la diversité et pour s’élever publiquement contre des incidents troublants qui menacent l’essence même du contrat social. Avant d’écrire mon message à la collectivité du Collège universitaire King, je suis sorti de mon bureau et j’ai tourné à droite pour franchir le petit corridor qui me [...]

2017-11-06T22:28:32+00:00 novembre 6th, 2017|Tags: |

Les agents de changement canadiens du domaine de l’éducation postsecondaire connaissent du succès

  Prenons un moment pour souligner nos victoires collectives! En octobre dernier, il s’est passé deux choses qui représentent de petites, mais importantes victoires dans le domaine de l’éducation postsecondaire canadien, surtout en ce qui a trait à la création d’une culture d’innovation sociale et de changement. Numéro 1 : Le Canada a la représentation la plus élevée par nombre de personnes à l’événement Ashoka U Exchange 2018. L’événement Exchange est un des plus grands rassemblements au monde qui permet de découvrir et de partager les meilleures pratiques d’intégration de l’innovation sociale dans l’éducation supérieure. La semaine dernière, l’équipe d’Ashoka U Exchange a communiqué des statistiques fort intéressantes. Premièrement, le nombre d’inscriptions pour l’événement qui en est à sa huitième [...]

2017-12-06T15:49:38+00:00 novembre 6th, 2017|Tags: |

• This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

About Jennifer Lockerby

This author has not yet filled in any details.
So far Jennifer Lockerby has created 19 blog entries.

New Resource: RECODE and Ashoka Canada 2018 Retreat Report

In July 2018, RECODE and Ashoka Canada convened higher ed changemakers from across Canada on Wasan Island in Port Carling, ON. The purpose of the retreat was to build community, take inventory of and celebrate our collective progress, and see how we can advance social impact work. This report contains the key retreat takeaways and next steps, represented through 'requests' and 'commitments' by individual participants. These requests and commitments include site visits, resource sharing, and future convenings. It also includes actions for building new partnerships that test innovations. Download our retreat report

Why do Canadians need to go all the way to Boston to connect?

  Earlier this month, some 800 social impact educators, students and administrators gathered in Boston for the Annual Ashoka U Exchange. United in the belief that post-secondary has been and continues to be a force for positive change in the world, this event showed us how we can accelerate and scale change in post-secondary. Prior to the Exchange, Ashoka and RECODE hosted the 3rd annual “Canada Day” – this pre-event, became an “instant tradition” in 2016, and notwithstanding its short history, participants generally agreed that this year felt different. One of the highlights of Canada Day was the Mennonite Walk (thank you Paul Born!) – a paired walk where participants got some air and got to know each other a bit better [...]

Solving the problems of today and tomorrow with social infrastructure

This article was originally posted on the Academica Group website and has been cross-posted here with permission. -- Challenges to social cohesion and community wellbeing are on the rise across the world, and governments at every level no longer have the resources they once did to address these challenges. As the forces of globalization squeeze public budgets, many postsecondary institutions also face growing pressure to justify their existence to the communities they serve. But within this challenging environment, Canada’s postsecondary leaders see an opportunity for their institutions to use their capacity and resources to address some of society’s most wicked problems. For Simon Fraser University President Andrew Petter, the current challenge to community wellbeing stems from an urgent need for improved “social [...]

2018-03-27T16:47:51+00:00 March 27th, 2018|Tags: |

The LabWISE Program: A Small Contribution to the Field of Change Labs in Canada

Change Labs are becoming an increasingly popular methodology across the world to address complex social, economic and environmental problems. There are scores of labs in Canada tackling food security, early childhood development, energy transition, affordable housing, water management and racism. There are even several more “permanent” lab platforms, such as the MaRS Solution Lab in Toronto, the Government of Alberta’s Co-Lab in Edmonton, and REOS Partners Social Lab group that facilitate lab processes for other groups. While there has been a great deal of experimentation with Labs, the field is still highly emergent. Most practitioners rarely document their approaches, systematically evaluate them, or share their learnings and failures with others. As a result, most Lab facilitators, participants, and those who [...]

2018-03-27T15:10:08+00:00 March 19th, 2018|Tags: , |

Campus-Community Collaboration: What can we learn from global post-secondary institutions?

A collaboration between RECODE and UpSocial With one of the most accessible post-secondary sectors in the world, it comes as no surprise that various Canadian institutions excel at addressing social issues. From social value purchasing, to civic innovation hubs, there are many examples of institutions going beyond the functions of research and teaching by contributing to and collaborating with community. However, this institution-community connection is not yet mainstream in Canada, and scaling innovations can be difficult. Furthermore, social challenges, like refugee crises and food insecurity, permeate borders. As do social innovations. What can Canadian institutions learn and apply from exemplary international institutions? It’s this line of inquiry that led RECODE to partner with UpSocial, a Barcelona-based organization dedicated to implementing [...]

2018-03-19T17:46:21+00:00 March 19th, 2018|

RECODE’s Year in Review

RECODE’s goal is to increase solutions-centred 21st century post-secondary education that enhances community well-being. Our strategy is to amplify and cluster breakthrough innovations.  As a funder, capacity builder and convener, RECODE works with partners to weave social innovation tools and practices into the very fabric of campus and community culture. You can read more about our strategies, activities and aspirations here. So how are we doing? In our 2016 end of year blog post we concluded that while we weren’t sure, we did have confidence that we were asking the right questions and were on the right track. We then set out to create the conditions for social infrastructure to be tangible and actionable on campuses in 2017. Looking back [...]

2018-02-01T15:31:06+00:00 January 30th, 2018|Tags: |

Co-operative Education to “Build a Better World”

Ever since people have been organising to achieve mutual goals, co-operation has existed. With its roots in combatting inequality and exploitation brought on by the industrial revolution throughout Europe in the the 1700 and 1800s,  the co-operative has come into its own as a recognized legal corporate form, growing to directly employ 250 million people in 2.6 million co-ops worldwide. The International Co-operative Alliance (ICA) defines a co-op is defined as "an autonomous association of persons united voluntarily to meet their common economic, social, and cultural needs and aspirations through a jointly-owned and democratically-controlled enterprise". The emphasis on autonomy and democracy - as well as a focus on members’ needs and not necessarily profits - is what draws many young [...]

2018-01-08T16:26:05+00:00 January 5th, 2018|Tags: , |

Building Reconciliation Forum 2017: 3 Lessons Learned

At the third annual Building Reconciliation Forum, hosted by the University of Manitoba, Indigenous people and settlers discussed progress, possibilities and challenges for reconciliation in post-secondary education. First, I would like to thank the people who welcomed me, a settler, as a visitor to Treaty One territory. By extension, my understanding of Indigenous issues in Canada is inherently limited as a settler.  As a racialized ally and recent student, however, I believe I can provide valuable insight to fellow settlers working in the post-secondary sector. Here are my three significant takeaways from the Forum (these are my views and not intended to reflect those of the McConnell Foundation!): 1. ‘Indigenizing’ colonial institutions requires decolonization. “Decolonization and indigenization go hand in hand.  [...]

Building upon small things that make a difference in our community

In my eighteen years as a university president, I have come to realize that, while policy usually drives institutional change, it is often the little things we do on our campuses that make the biggest difference in our immediate and extended communities.   Following the first Charlottesville debacle in the U.S., community leaders, including no small number of university presidents, took to their keyboards to compose forceful statements on their commitment to diversity, taking public stands against the disturbing incidents that questioned the very nature of our social contract. Before composing my message to the King’s University College community, I stepped out of my office, took a right, and walked down the short hallway to the Vitali Lounge to breathe [...]

2017-11-06T22:19:52+00:00 November 6th, 2017|Tags: |

Canadian post-secondary changemakers are thriving

  Let’s take a moment to celebrate our collective wins, shall we? Back in October, two things happened that represent small but meaningful victories in the Canadian higher education landscape, especially as they relate to building a culture of social innovation and changemaking. #1: Canada has the highest per capita leadership representation at the 2018 Ashoka U Exchange. The Exchange is one of the largest international gatherings to learn and share leading practices for embedding social innovation in higher education. Last week, the Ashoka U Exchange Team shared some exciting statistics. Firstly, in its 8th year, applications from last year grew from 180 to 300. In just one year, we nearly doubled the number of changemakers wishing to contribute to [...]

2017-12-06T15:47:56+00:00 November 6th, 2017|Tags: , |