khodgins

  • Ce champ n’est utilisé qu’à des fins de validation et devrait rester inchangé.

About Kelly Hodgins

This author has not yet filled in any details.
So far Kelly Hodgins has created 12 blog entries.

Le milieu de l’éducation supérieure se prépare-t-il pour l’avenir?

  Les industries, les entreprises et les gouvernements s’outillent pour l’avenir, motivés par les impératifs de durabilité qu’entraînent les changements climatiques, la rareté des ressources, de l’eau et de la nourriture, la polarisation sociale et la hausse des inégalités économiques. Les cégeps et les universités ne font pas exception. L’avenir appartient aux organisations qui auront été proactives et non à celles qui auront défendu le statu quo. Comme d’autres secteurs, le milieu postsecondaire est en période de transition alors qu’il réfléchit à sa raison d’être. Fournit-il les compétences nécessaires aux étudiantes et étudiantes ainsi qu’aux gens sur le marché du travail pour qu’ils puissent occuper des emplois? Sans aucun doute. Fournit-il aussi les compétences nécessaires à son personnel administratif pour [...]

2018-12-06T22:24:33+00:00 novembre 29th, 2018|

Training the Archer : un nouveau rapport de recherche sur l’éducation des agents et agentes de changement

  Comment les cégeps et les universités peuvent-ils aider les jeunes qui fréquentent leur établissement à devenir des agents ou des agentes de changement? Bien qu’il s’agisse d’un domaine encore relativement nouveau, il paraît évident que l’approche requise pour éduquer des agents et agentes de changement diffère considérablement des approches éducatives traditionnelles. Il ne s’agit pas d’acquérir ou de mémoriser des connaissances pour ensuite s’aventurer dans le vaste monde. On parle plutôt d’un apprentissage pratique qui exige de la discipline dans une réalité complexe. C’est ce qui est expliqué dans le nouveau rapport intitulé Training the Archer: Accelerating Student Changemaking Through Testing Assumptions. L’auteure Alexandra Daignault y explique comment les étudiants et les étudiantes du pays examinent et remettent en [...]

2018-12-04T20:09:12+00:00 novembre 29th, 2018|Tags: |

L’autochtonisation de la gouvernance universitaire : le Yukon College trace la voie

  Qu’est-ce que cela veut dire pour un cégep ou une université d’adopter des principes de réconciliation de manière globale? Le Yukon College a voulu tenter de le découvrir au moment où l’établissement est passé d’un cégep à une université en concevant un nouveau modèle de gouvernance qui comprenait l’autochtonisation parmi ses principes fondamentaux. Un des défis pour y arriver était qu’il existe de l’information sur l’autochtonisation dans le secteur postsecondaire, mais seulement relativement à des domaines précis (programmes, curriculum, espace, politiques, etc.). Quant à eux, les renseignements sur l’autochtonisation à l’échelle de l’établissement, ou sur une gouvernance partagée, manquaient cruellement. Voyant à la fois une lacune et une occasion, le Yukon College a décidé d’animer une conversation. En mars [...]

2018-12-04T20:04:53+00:00 novembre 28th, 2018|Tags: , , |

Nous lancerons bientôt un nouveau site pour RECODE

Nous avons le plaisir de vous annoncer que nous travaillons en ce moment sur une toute nouvelle mouture du site web RECODE. Bien que le site contienne actuellement des ressources et des renseignements utiles, il est difficile d’y trouver la bonne information. L’objectif du programme est d’accélérer les changements dans le secteur postsecondaire et d’accroître l’ampleur de ces derniers. Nous voulons donc simplifier le site et mettre en valeur les activités, les ressources et les occasions qui intéresseront le plus nos visiteurs. Nous voyons le nouveau site comme une ressource utile qui présentera clairement les activités inspirantes de nombreux cégeps et universités du pays, alors que ces derniers s’efforcent d’améliorer leur impact social et le bien-être de leur communauté. Nous [...]

2018-11-23T15:42:40+00:00 novembre 22nd, 2018|

Mon année en tant que boursière en innovation sociale à La fondation McConnell : ce que j’ai appris et ce qu’il me reste à apprendre

  À quoi renvoie l’innovation sociale au juste? Et les infrastructures sociales? Et la création d’un mouvement? J’étais pleinement confiante au début de ma bourse de recherche que j’allais trouver les réponses à ces questions. Mon mandat était d’appuyer le programme RECODE et ma description de tâches incluait l’engagement des intervenants et intervenantes, la planification d’événements, la communication et des tâches programmatiques comme la rédaction de rapports et la gestion de projets. Assez facile tout ça, n’est-ce pas? Ayant auparavant acquis de l’expérience dans les domaines de la justice sociale, du communautaire et des services directs, j’avais hâte de découvrir ce nouvel univers de philanthropie et d’innovation sociale. Avec du recul toutefois, je pense que je n’étais pas vraiment prête [...]

2018-10-17T19:10:25+00:00 octobre 17th, 2018|Tags: , , |

Des infrastructures sociales à l’Université de Winnipeg

  Grâce à des investissements dans les domaines de la formation et de l’innovation, les cégeps et universités du Canada servent d’ancrage quant aux moyens de subsistance et au bien-être social des communautés et du pays. En plus de leur mandat d’enseignement et de recherche, ces établissements ont un impact au moment d’embaucher des gens, d’acheter des produits et services, et d’utiliser leurs actifs financiers, physiques et relationnels. Reconnaissant leur capacité latente à créer de meilleurs résultats en tant que joueurs économiques et innovateurs sociaux, les établissements postsecondaires commencent à utiliser leurs actifs pour bâtir des « infrastructures sociales ». La University of Winnipeg Community Renewal Corporation (UWCRC) est un très bel exemple de stratégie dans ce domaine. Elle englobe des investissements [...]

2018-10-24T13:33:03+00:00 octobre 15th, 2018|Tags: |

• This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

About Kelly Hodgins

This author has not yet filled in any details.
So far Kelly Hodgins has created 12 blog entries.

Future Shock: Is Higher Education Ready for the Impact?

  Industries, companies and governments are retooling for the future, driven by the sustainability imperatives of climate change, resource, food and water scarcity, social polarization and rising income inequality. Universities and colleges are no exception. The future will be won by organizations that were proactive, not those that defended the status quo. As with other industries, the post-secondary sector is undergoing a transition as it explores its reason for existence. Does it equip students and professionals for future roles? Yes. Does it also equip its administrators to contribute their expertise, resources, assets and investments to contribute to societal outcomes? Slowly but surely. The McConnell Foundation and the Canadian Association of University Business Officers (CAUBO) have been piloting measures to accelerate [...]

Training the Archer – new research on changemaker education

How can colleges and universities support students to become changemakers? Although the field of changemaking is still emerging, it is becoming abundantly clear that the approach to "changemaker education" is significantly different to more traditional forms of education. Changemaking, "is not about collecting or committing knowledge to memory and then moving out into the world. Instead, it is about learning through discipline and practice within the complexities of the real world." This is described in a new report Training the Archer: Accelerating Student Changemaking Through Testing Assumptions. In it, author Alexandra Daignault examines how Canadian students are inquiring, reflecting on, and examining assumptions in learning about and advancing a social or environmental cause they are passionate about. And its findings are eye-opening. The report [...]

2018-12-04T21:27:46+00:00 November 29th, 2018|Tags: , , |

Indigenizing University Governance – Yukon College Blazes the Path

What does it look like for a college or university to wholly adopt principles of reconciliation? In an effort to try to find out, Yukon College is using its upcoming transition from a College to a University to develop a new governance model that holds indigenization as a fundamental tenet. Part of their challenge is that information about indigenization in the post-secondary sector existed, but only in relation to specific areas (programs, curriculum, space, policy, etc.). Information about indigenization at an institutional level, or about shared governance, meanwhile, was critically lacking. Sensing a gap and an opportunity, Yukon College decided to lead a conversation. In March 2018, they brought together a group of 30 people, including representatives from fifteen post-secondary institutions [...]

2018-12-04T21:28:42+00:00 November 28th, 2018|Tags: , , |

Announcement: A brand new RECODE website is on the way

We’re excited to share that RECODE site is undergoing a complete overhaul and redesign. Although it hosts valuable resources and information, the current RECODE site makes finding relevant information challenging. The program’s aspiration is to accelerate and scale change in the post-secondary sector, and our goal is to simplify the site and highlight activities, resources, and opportunities that are most interesting and useful for visitors to know about. We envision the new site as a helpful resource: one that clearly communicates the inspiring activities of colleges and universities across Canada, in their work to increase their social impact and wellbeing in their community To do this, we are proud to be working alongside Winnipeg-based and B Corp design studio, Manoverboard. [...]

2018-11-23T16:56:05+00:00 November 22nd, 2018|

My Year as a McConnell Social Innovation Fellow: lessons I learned and have yet to learn

  What is social innovation, anyway? Social infrastructure? Movement building? Going into my fellowship, these were all questions that I had full confidence I would learn the answers to. I was to support the RECODE program, and my job description included stakeholder engagement, event planning, communications, and programmatic tasks such as report-writing or project management. Easy enough, right? With a strong social justice, community and direct service background, I was excited for this new world of social innovation and philanthropy. In hindsight, however, I was not fully prepared to adjust to the frameworks, tools, relationships, and ways of thinking about social transformation. At the end of my first day of work, McConnell’s Vice President asked me to summarize what I had [...]

2018-10-17T19:06:21+00:00 October 17th, 2018|Tags: , , |

Catalyst for Sustainability: Social Infrastructure in Action at the University of Winnipeg

  Through investments in training and innovation, Canada’s universities and colleges anchor the economic livelihood and social wellbeing of communities and our country. In addition to teaching and research, their impact is expressed in the people they hire, the goods and services they purchase and the ways they invest their financial, physical and relational assets. Recognizing their latent capacity to shape better outcomes as economic actors and social innovators, post-secondary institutions are beginning to apply their assets to building “social infrastructure.” The University of Winnipeg Community Renewal Corporation (UWCRC) is an outstanding example of a social infrastructure strategy. It comprises investments in urban renewal, post-secondary infrastructure, affordable housing, food services and more. The report Catalyst for Sustainability: The Achievements, Challenges, Lessons and Prospects of [...]

2018-10-16T18:44:31+00:00 October 15th, 2018|Tags: , , |